This is a friendly community where all are welcome. We only have a few basic rules. Don't be a jerk. Be excellent to each other.

Gaming Moments

JuxtaposeJuxtapose Centurion
edited October 2010 in General
Like everyone else here, I'm an avid gamer who's played a lot of titles across a lot of platforms and I've had a lot of interesting experiences. There's been a lot of great titles released over the years that have been very impressive, polishing or innovating what's come before and providing some really memorable gaming moments.

Yet there's one moment that's rather rare, and I know we've all had them at some point or another. I'm talking about that moment when your in the middle of a game, and you realize, truly realize you're doing something that you've never done before and that this experience has changed gaming forever in one way, shape, or form for you.

Again, these moments come rarely as most developers "play it safe," and true innovation doesn't happen all the time. Of course, as a regular Joe, I don't play every game that comes out so I end up missing stuff, passing on stuff, or even ignoring certain genres.

So, I'm going to share with you my last big gaming moment; when the experience I was having just wowed me and I knew I'd never game the same way again. That moment was back in 2004 when I was going through my first playthrough of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (PC).

I had just played through all of Taris and Dantooine and decided to go to Manan (I think that was the water world's name). As I left that first hanger where the Ebon Hawk was docked and just looked around, I truly realized how massive a game BioWare had crafted. The extent of the player choice and how it directly affected the exceptional story I was experiencing became plain to me, and compared to all of the first person shooters and real time strategy games that had been my staple for years, this action RPG opened my eyes to so many new gaming possibilities.